The display areas
The building was constructed in two phases by local workers: the first part from 1597 to 1598, and the second from 1607 to 1608. The structure is composed of two buildings that are very similar, both in terms of the dimensions and the rectangular plan. The buildings have two floors, which are not connected and are of a different layout. The lower floor is composed of three vast connected rooms of a rectangular floor plan, covered with low barrel-vaulted roofs. Access to these is by way of four doors in the façade. In the adjacent Via delle Muraglie a flight of steps allows access to the upper floor, which has a wooden roof supported by large block arches. These make the building brighter and more airy thanks also to the large rectangular windows in the façade and on the sides of the building. The building has not been used as a storehouse since 1833, and has been used for many functions in different periods, while ever continuing to be representative of the public spirit of the town. As a result of the restoration work, which was concluded in 2000, the building now boasts two large exhibition rooms, about 500 m2 in area, and every year hosts exhibitions linked both to the traditions of Sardinian figurative art and to the international art circuit.
The spaces on the lower floor are also suitable for the workshop and didactic activities of the City Museum.